TWD: Mixed Berry Cobbler

Husband be damned, to me there’s nothing better than hot fruit, in any form – cobbler, crisp, pie, brown better – there’ just nothing better than the sweet, bubbling juices under a warm crust. So I was more than pumped at this week’s announcement that Beth had chosen Dorie’s Mixed Berry Cobbler. I even manufactured several reasons why a Saturday trip to Costco was necessary, so that I could pick up a bag of frozen mixed berries especially for the recipe.

Since my husband despises hot fruit, I didn’t want to make an entire cobbler. Too risky, since I’m supposed to be saving my calories for a 33rd birthday all-you-can-eat extravaganza at my favorite restaurant, the Thane Ore House. All the beer-battered halibut and fresh caught salmon I can eat is enough to want me to stay away from the cobbler. So from the start I’d intended to not only halve the recipe, but make individual portions in the ramekins I received as a wedding gift four years ago and don’t use nearly as often as I thought I would.

But after reading the comments over on the TWD site about the less than flavorful biscuit topping, I decided a few more tweaks were in order. If it was bland to those who have a working nose, I couldn’t begin to imagine how bland it would taste to me. I read through the comments, and made the following alterations – 3 tablespoons of honey, instead of the 3 tablespoons of sugar; 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger, and 1/8 teaspoon of ground cloves. The honey made the dough a bit wetter than it would have been, which made rolling it out a bit of a pain, and I lacked the patience to let it set up for very long in the freezer so I could cut out rounds. But with those additions, I thought it was quite flavorful.

Another change I made is, I cut eight rounds of dough, so that I had two layers in the ramekins. A recent episode of Good Eats was on cobbler, and in the back of my mind I felt like Alton had put in a layer of berries, a layer of dough, another layer of berries and the final layer of dough. It could have been a crumble that he did that with, I couldn’t remember. But my ramekins are small, and the dough was too much to put entirely on the top, so I layered – berries, dough, berries dough. I baked one ramekin for 27 minutes (in the future, I’d go 20-25), and froze the other three.

Berry-Dough Layers

The cobbler was good, but I don’t think I’d use this particular recipe again. I really am more a fan of the brown sugar/streusel type cobbler toppings. And, this really was more of an inverted pie. But I’ll definitely have no problems finishing off the rest.

(Oh, and the calorie count for a serving size isn’t so bad, either, but I’m not telling!).

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allison
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 02:25:23

    Wow–your topping additions sound great. How did the topping layer in the middle turn out? Great idea to bake one at a time. I know I could have eaten all of mine if I didn’t have company to help me.

    Reply

  2. Ulrike aka ostwestwind
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 03:26:39

    I am a cobbler newbie … , great topping additions, I’ll try them, if I do the recipe again.

    Ulrike from K├╝chenlatein

    Reply

  3. Tarah
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 05:31:38

    Looks great!

    Reply

  4. Mary Ann
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 06:54:41

    It looks so good- I just want to dive in!

    Reply

  5. Natashya
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 13:07:41

    Very sexy little cobblers, I like the design of the ramekins as well.
    ps, Happy Birthday

    Reply

  6. Jules
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 14:07:34

    Interesting layering idea. It looks delicious!

    Reply

  7. Barbara
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 18:16:36

    Yum!

    Reply

  8. Jessica
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 10:06:22

    Your little cobblers look wonderful. This is practically health food!

    Reply

  9. Dolores
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 11:22:09

    I love your ginger/clove add-ins… and the layered concept’s intriguing too. Great job. And happy birthday a bit early.

    Reply

  10. Shari@Whisk: a food blog
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 16:39:49

    I like the layering idea. Although you say you prefer the crumble/streusal type of hot fruit, what did you think of the layers? Did they cook up fine? I’m curious.
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

